Categories
post

Skyline Shenanigans

Written By: Chris Orsello

For my vector project, I decided to create an adaptation of a city skyline on Adobe Illustrator. For this project, I attempted to create an adaptation from aspects from a variety of cities from memory and aspects of other cities I saw online.

For this project, I took a majority of my inspiration from my hometown, the city of Chicago. As you can see in the bottom right, I created a building that was inspired by the John Hancock skyscraper on Michigan Ave in downtown Chicago. The building has a simplistic but very unique and inordinacy look which is why I had to include it in my project. Plus, the John Hancock is my favorite building to look at when I am driving on Lake Shore Drive to get to downtown. The building next to my depiction of the John Hancock on the left, is supposed to be an adaptation of the Trump Hotel in downtown Chicago. This Hotel is a very awkward shape and is one of the tallest buildings in the city, so I thought it was only right to include. Finally, in front of the setting sun, I created a building that was a representation to the Empire State Building in New York City.

I really enjoyed this project because it was fun to create something that made me reminisce on my hometown and urban life outside of Minneapolis. This was a great experience to manipulate different shapes to create buildings that represented a realistic looking skyline and I learned that many buildings and skyscrapers we see are not just standard boxes.

Leave a comment