Categories
post

Are Laptops Ruining Education?

In her book “Reclaiming Conversation,” Sherry Turkle discusses the impact of digital devices on an educational environment. She makes the argument that the increase of technology in the classroom is detrimental to students, professors, and learning, in general. 

I found Turkle’s argument intriguing. I agree that personal devices, such as cell phones and laptops, can become major distractions for students during lectures.  

Early on in my freshman year of college, I would bring my laptop to class to take notes. However, one day, during a somewhat boring introductory lecture, I found myself lost in my own thoughts. Before I knew it, instead of taking notes, I was using my laptop to browse Facebook. By the end of the class, I had completely zoned out and had missed out on some important information.  

That day I realized bringing my laptop to class was too much of a distraction for me and decided to only take notes by hand from then on. Even though I made the decision to avoid laptops during lectures, this has not eliminated the distractions caused by digital devices altogether.  

In Turkle’s work, she quotes a college senior who complains she is taken out of the lecture when she sees her classmates misusing their laptops during class (215). I find myself having this same issue quite often. When a lecture starts to drag, oftentimes watching the YouTube video playing on my classmate’s screen in front of me is more compelling than remaining attentive to the professor. 

In addition, I have realized my cell phone is a major distraction for me during class. When I started college, I would turn my phone off and put it away before every class. Then, I started leaving it out on my desk but leaving it turned off. Next thing I knew, I was leaving it powered on and checking it multiple times throughout the lecture. Now I feel lost without my phone during class.  

Each time I check my phone, though, I take myself out of the lecture and potentially miss out on important information. However, now that I have gotten into the habit, I find it difficult to refrain from using my phone during class. 

This is why I actually find it somewhat relieving when a professor institutes a device-free classroom policy. This requires students to not use their laptops, eliminating that distraction, and forces me to put away my phone, eliminating the temptation to check it. It helps me stay focused and engaged in the coursework at hand. 

Overall, I feel it is best for everyone if college classrooms restrict personal digital devices.

Leave a comment