Categories
post

Response To “Reclaiming Education”

The chapter on education in Sherry Turkle’s “Reclaiming Conversation” focuses on how technology has impacted the education industry and communication in the classroom.

As for the author’s perspective on communication within this chapter, I tend to agree. I believe that communication needs to be a two-way exchange, whether that be one-to-one or one-to-many. To effectively communicate, I must be engaged with the person or persons I’m communicating with. This requires deep attention.

This brings up the second point that the author writes about — digital devices in the classroom tend to distract and detract from the learning process. Thus, hindering education. I would also agree with this point as this is something that I have simply noticed in my own classroom/digital device experience.

Too many times have I checked my cell phone during a lecture and completely missed what the professor was saying. Even if it was only for one minute, I still couldn’t recall the professor’s previous point.

So, what should take place in a classroom?

I think students need to learn at least social skills while in a classroom setting.

I think the author’s point on page 230 is an excellent description of what students should get out of the classroom experience.

Non-cognitive skills

Skills such as social interaction, teamwork, conflict resolution, how to hold a conversation, coping with anxiety, and the like.

These are skills that must be learned in a face-to-face setting with other human beings.

Sure, I suppose you can learn these non-cognitive skills online, but it is much easier and more practical to learn them in the classroom where others are present.

So, I think that holistic learning must take place in the classroom. Both cognitive learning (hard skills, facts, etc.) and non-cognitive skills (teamwork, conflict resolution, etc.).

As for me, digital devices have been a distraction in the classroom.

Either I’ve been the one perpetrating the handling of technology or I’ve been subject to someone else’s handling.

I have been trying to get better at controlling my distraction by turning my cell phone on silent and putting it out of site. This has shown to be helpful. I’m also cognizant not to go on any social media apps and stick strictly to my note-taking apps. This has also been beneficial although I do fail when moments of boredom strike.

Overall, I love learning and believe that my love for learning will motivate me to pay attention in the classroom.

 

Leave a comment